Leading a mentally healthy school

Leading a Mentally Healthy School is a new two-day programme, aimed at senior leaders of all phases to enable reflection and action planning around whole-school approaches to mental health provision.

The programme has been developed by Health Education England (HEE) and the School Development Support Agency (SDSA) in partnership with an expert group of educational psychologists, education consultants and mental health organisations and responds to the areas highlighted in the recent Green Paper – ‘Transforming Children and Young People’s Mental Health Provision’ (December2017).

Leading a Mentally Healthy School aims:
• to enable and empower senior leaders to put mental health at the heart of strategic school improvement.
• to equip senior leaders with practical and sustainable approaches that can be implemented on return to school.

Module content:

This course is about LEADERSHIP of a mentally healthy school.
Module 1: Ethos, culture and strategic leadership
• What is mental health?
• Why have a whole school approach to mental health?
• The importance of ethos and culture.
• Strategic planning.

Module 2: Policies and procedures for impact
• Policies and leadership.
• Signs and symptoms.
• Procedures for impact.

Teaching School Role

We are offering the programme to all TSAs free of charge to include in their CPD provision to schools. Our hope is that all TSAs will take advantage of the opportunity to engage with this highly regarded programme.

In order for TSAs to access the 2-day programme for their CPD provision, it is necessary for one or two facilitators to attend a one-day Train the Trainer session. These are being delivered during the spring and summer terms across the country by a number of identified hub schools as listed below.

Please contact one or more of the hubs below to find out which are running events near you.

Hub Schools by Region

RSC Region Local Authority Alliance Name Main Contact
Name
Main Contact
Email
North Cumbria Burton Morewood TSA Richard
Wilson
head@burtonmorewood.cumbria.sch.uk
North Northumberland Three Rivers TSA Clare
Savage
clare.savage@the3rivers.net
North North
Yorkshire
Northern Lights TSA Jill Jackson jacksonj@sghs.org.uk
Lancashire and West Yorkshire Lancashire East Lancashire TSA Steve
Campbell
CampbellS@thehollins.com
Lancashire and West Yorkshire Liverpool Palmerston Inclusive Alliance Julie
Suffield
j.suffield@palmerston.liverpool.sch.uk
Lancashire and West Yorkshire Liverpool North Liverpool TSA Lesley
Curtis
everton-ht@evertoncentre.liverpool.sch.uk
East Midlands & Humber Derbyshire Synergy TSA Caroline
Rodgers
caroline.rodgers@brockley.derbyshire.sch.uk
East Midlands & Humber Derbyshire Synergy TSA Susan
Chapman
headteacher@hady.derbyshire.sch.uk>;
East Midlands & Humber Leicester Ash Field TSA Ellen
Croft
ECROFT@ashfield.leicester.sch.uk
East Midlands & Humber Lincolnshire Equate TSA Stacey
Williams
stacey@equatetsa.co.uk
East Midlands & Humber Lincolnshire LEARN TSA Ann
White
ann.white@learnteachingschool.co.uk
East Midlands & Humber Sheffield Escafeld TSA Steve
Rippin
srippin@taptonschool.co.uk
West Midlands Walsall Ryders Hayes Alliance Helen
Cliff
H.Cliff@Ryders-Hayes.co.uk
West Midlands Walsall Evolve TSA Kate
Hibbs
KHibbs@barrbeaconschool.co.uk
East & NE London Thurrock Thurrock Primary TSA Amanda
Mitchelow
contactus@dptsa.org.uk
East & NE London Norfolk Norfolk Teaching and Leadership Excellence Centre Elaine
Woolner
esmith8erg@yare-edu.org.uk
East & NE London Suffolk Suffolk Borders TSA Andy
Samways
asamways@swatrust.co.uk
NW London and South Central Bedford Peter Pan TSA Isabel
Davis
isabel.davis@bedfordnurseryschools.com
NW London and South Central Reading Marlow & Maidenhead Learning Alliance Ben Parsons mmla@swbgs.com
South East and South London East
Sussex
St Mark's TSA Claire
Rivers
head@st-marks.e-sussex.sch.uk
South East and South London Southampton Portswood TSA Roisin
Philip
roisin.philip@portswoodpri.org.uk
South East and South London Lambeth Sharing Excellence Alliance Mohamed
Abdallah
abdallah.m@dunraven.org.uk
South West Cornwall Kernow TSA Teresa
Lawrance
teresa.lawrance@cornwall.ac.uk
South West Dorset The Jurassic Coast TSA Beth
Brooke
bbrooke@woodroffe.dorset.sch.uk
South West Gloucestershire CHM Alliance Diane
Taylor
diane.taylor@milestone-academy.org.uk
South West Plymouth Plymouth TSA Kim
Dorian Kemp
kim.dorian-kemp@highviewprimaryschool.org.uk